ORGANISATION INTERGOUVERNEMENTALE POUR LES TRANSPORTS INTERNATIONAUX FERROVIAIRES





ZWISCHENSTAATLICHE ORGANISATION FÜR DEN INTERNATIONALEN EISENBAHNVERKEHR

INTERGOVERNMENTAL ORGANISATION FOR INTER-NATIONAL CARRIAGE BY RAIL

OTIF/RID/CE/2014-A

30 June 2014

Original: German

TO THE GOVERNMENTS OF THE MEMBER STATES OF OTIF AND TO REGIONAL ORGANISATIONS WHICH HAVE ACCEDED TO COTIF

Final report of the 53rd session of the RID Committee of Experts (Berne, 22 May 2014)

For reasons of cost, only a limited number of copies of this document have been made. Delegates are asked to bring their own copies of documents to meetings. OTIF only has a small number of copies available.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

		Para- graphs	Page
ITEM 1:	Approval of the agenda	1	3
ITEM 2:	Presence and quorum	2	3
ITEM 3:	Election of the Chairmen	3	3
ITEM 4:	Approval of the amendments to RID suggested by the first, second and third sessions of the RID Committee of Experts' standing working group (Riga, 12 to 15 November 2012, Copenhagen, 18 to 22 November 2013 and Berne, 20 and 21 May 2014) for a date of entry into force of 1 January 2015.	4 - 8	3

Annex I: List of participants

ITEM 1: Approval of the agenda

Document: A 81-03/503.2014 (Secretariat)

1. The provisional agenda contained in calling notice A 81-03/503.2014 dated 11 March 2014 was adopted.

ITEM 2: Presence and quorum

2. The Secretariat noted that of the 44 Member States entitled to vote, 18 States (see Annex I) were present. In addition, the Secretariat had been informed in a letter from the European Commission dated 13 May 2014 that in accordance with the agreement between OTIF and the European Union concerning the EU's accession to COTIF, the European Union would exercise the voting rights on behalf of all its Member States entitled to vote. The quorum in accordance with Article 20 § 1 of the Rules of Procedure (1/3 of the Member States) was therefore reached.

ITEM 3: Election of the Chairmen

- 3. The Chairman of the RID Committee of Experts' standing working group (Berne, 20 and 21 May 2014), Mr Helmut Rein (Germany) and the deputy Chair, Mrs Caroline Bailleux (Belgium) were also elected Chairman and deputy Chair for this session of the RID Committee of Experts.
 - ITEM 4: Approval of the amendments to RID suggested by the first, second and third sessions of the RID Committee of Experts' standing working group (Riga, 12 to 15 November 2012, Copenhagen, 18 to 22 November 2013 and Berne, 20 and 21 May 2014) for a date of entry into force of 1 January 2015

Document: [OTIF/RID/NOT/2015] (Secretariat)

Informal document: INF.12 (Secretariat)

- 4. The RID Committee of Experts had in front of it the draft notification texts (document [OTIF/RID/NOT/2015]) containing all the amendments to RID proposed by the first and second sessions of the RID Committee of Experts' standing working group (Riga, 12 to 15 November 2012 and Copenhagen, 18 to 22 November 2013) for a date of entry into force of 1 January 2015. This document also contained all the texts adopted by the last RID/ADR/ADN Joint Meeting (Berne, 17 to 21 March 2014).
- 5. The RID Committee of Experts also had before it informal document INF.12, which contained the amendments made to document [OTIF/RID/NOT/2015] and all the additional texts adopted at the 3rd session of the standing working group (Berne, 20 and 21 May 2014).
- 6. The RID Committee of Experts agreed in particular on the following minor editorial amendments, which, for the sake of simplicity, were integrated directly into Annex II to the report of the 3rd session of the standing working group (document OTIF/RID/CE/GTP/2014-A).
 - Amendment of the definition of "wagon" as a result of the new definition of "railway vehicle";
 - Format of the new definition of "SMGS Annex 2";

- Clarification that the new special provision 665 is in each case assigned to packing group III of UN numbers 1361 and 3088.
- 7. The RID Committee of Experts unanimously adopted all the amendments contained in the two documents referred to with the editorial amendments listed in paragraph 6, for a date of entry into force of 1 January 2015.
- 8. The Secretariat explained that it would send the Member States the final notification texts by 30 June 2014.

Thanks

- 9. The Chairman thanked the Secretariat for the efforts it had made in connection with submitting informal document INF.12 in all three working languages in good time.
- 10. Mr Szabolcs Schmidt, the Head of Unit C.4 of the European Commission's Directorate-General Mobility and Transport, thanked the dangerous goods experts from the OTIF Member States for the extensive work on the revision of RID, which would improve safety in the transport of dangerous goods. He also said that cooperation in the context of the new basic conditions, which had arisen as a result of the coordination required between the EU Member States, had worked well.

Departure of Mr Timo Aaltonen

11. The Chairman thanked Mr Timo Aaltonen for all his work. In recent years, he had taken part in many meetings of the RID Committee of Experts and its standing working group as the representative of the European Commission. He recalled that in the past, it had been necessary to overcome some difficult situations in connection with the RID Committee of Experts' way of working that had arisen as a result of the European Union's accession to COTIF. But thanks to Mr Aaltonen's cooperation, this way of working was now well underway and promised to continue to work well in future.

Annex I

Liste des participants Teilnehmerliste List of participants

I. Gouvernements/Regierungen/Governments

Allemagne/Deutschland/Germany

Mr. H. **Rein** (Min.) Mr. H. **Hoffmann** (Min.) Mr B. **Hilbert** (EBA) Mr W. **Wilmsen** (EBA)

Autriche/Austria/Österreich

Mr O. **Krammer** (Min.) Mr G. **Mayer** (RCA)

Belgique/Belgien/Belgium

Ms C. Bailleux (Min.)

Croatie/Kroatien/Croatia

Mr B. **Mikulić** (Min.)

Danemark/Dänemark/Denmark

Mr S.R. Thomsen (DTA)

Espagne/Spanien/Spain

Ms S. García Wolfrum

Finlande/Finnland/Finland

Ms A. Häkkinen (Finnish Transport Safety Agency)

France/Frankreich/France

Mr C. Pfauvadel (Min.)

Italie/Italien/Italy

Mr B. Legittimo (Min.)

Lettonie/Lettland/Latvia

Mr D. Lacis (State Railway Technical Inspectorate)

Mr V. **Stuppe** (State Railway Administration)

Lituanie/Litauen/Lithuania

Mr A. Tolstoj (Min.)

Luxembourg/Luxemburg/Luxembourg

Mr A. Wustrau (SNCA)

Pays-Bas/Niederlande/Netherlands

Mr K. **Tiemersma** (Min.) Mr H. **Langenberg** (Min.)

Pologne/Polen/Poland

Ms J. Dolinska (Min.) Mr K. Grzegorczyk (TTS) Mr P. Nowosiński (TTS) Ms J. Sobczak (PKP)

Suède/Schweden/Sweden

Mr B. **Zetterström** (MSB) Mr B. **Antonsson** (MSB)

Suisse/Schweiz/Switzerland

Mr C. Bonnet (Min.)

République tchèque/Tschechische Republik/Czech Republic

Mr L. **Knížek** (Min.) Mr S. **Hájek** (Bahnamt)

Royaume-Uni/Vereinigtes Königreich/United Kingdom

Ms H. **Gilson** (Min.) Mr A. **Bale** (Scientifics)

Union européenne/Europäische Union/European Union

- Hr. S. Schmidt (Com.)
- Mr T. Aaltonen (Com.)
- II. Organisations internationales gouvernementales/ Internationale Regierungsorganisationen/ International governmental organisations

Agence ferroviaire européenne/Europäische Eisenbahn-Agentur/European Railway Agency (ERA)

- Mr E. Ruffin
- III. Organisations internationales non gouvernementales Internationale Nichtregierungsorganisationen International non-governmental organisations

CEFIC

Mr T. Klein Mr E. Sigrist

UIC

Mr J.-G. Heintz

UIP

Mr R. Kogelheide Mr P. Laluc

IV. Secrétariat/Sekretariat/Secretariat

Mr J. Conrad Ms K. Guricová

V. Interprètes/Dolmetscher/Interpreters

Mr W. Küpper

Mr D. Ashman