

Organisation intergouvernementale pour les transports internationaux ferroviaires Zwischenstaatliche Organisation für den internationalen Eisenbahnverkehr Intergovernmental Organisation for International Carriage by Rail

OTIF/RID/CE/2022-A

30 June 2022

Original: German

TO THE MEMBER STATES AND ASSOCIATE MEMBERS OF OTIF AND TO REGIONAL ORGANISATIONS WHICH HAVE ACCEDED TO COTIF

Final report of the 57th Session of the RID Committee of Experts on the Transport of Dangerous Goods (Berne/hybrid, 24 May 2022)

Table of contents

	Para- graphs	Page
ITEM 1: Approval of the agenda	1	3
ITEM 2: Presence and quorum	2	3
ITEM 3: Election of the Chairs	3	3
ITEM 4: Approval of the amendments to RID suggested by the twelfth, thirteenth and fourteenth sessions of the RID Committee of Experts' standing working group (video-conference, 24 to 26 November 2020, Geneva/hybrid, 15 to 18 November 2021 and Berne/hybrid, 23 and 24 May 2022) for a date of entry into force of 1 January 2023	4 – 8	3
ITEM 5: Any other business	9 – 10	4

Annex I: List of participants

ITEM 1: Approval of the agenda

Document: RID-22005-CE57 (Secretariat)

1 The provisional agenda contained in calling notice RID-22005-CE57 dated 23 March 2022 was adopted.

ITEM 2: Presence and quorum

The Secretariat noted that of the 45 Member States entitled to vote, 16 States (see Annex I) were present. The Secretariat explained that it had been informed in a letter from the European Commission dated 23 May 2022 that in accordance with the agreement between OTIF and the European Union concerning the EU's accession to COTIF, the European Union would exercise the voting rights on behalf its Member States. The quorum in accordance with Article 20 § 1 of the Rules of Procedure (1/3 of the Member States) was therefore reached.

ITEM 3: Election of the Chairs

- 3. The Chair and Deputy Chair of the RID Committee of Experts' standing working group, Ms Caroline Bailleux (Belgium) and Mr Othmar Krammer (Austria), were also elected Chair and Deputy Chair of this session of the RID Committee of Experts.
 - ITEM 4: Approval of the amendments to RID suggested by the twelfth, thirteenth and fourteenth sessions of the RID Committee of Experts' standing working group (video-conference, 24 to 26 November 2020, Geneva/hybrid, 15 to 18 November 2021 and Berne/hybrid, 23 and 24 May 2022) for a date of entry into force of 1 January 2023

Documents: [OTIF/RID/NOT/2023] (Secretariat)
OTIF/RID/CE/2022/1 (Secretariat)

- 4. The RID Committee of Experts had received the draft notification texts (document [OTIF/RID/NOT/2023]) containing all the amendments to RID proposed by the twelfth and thirteenth sessions of the RID Committee of Experts' standing working group (video-conference, 24 to 26 November 2020 and Geneva/hybrid, 15 to 18 November 2021) for entry into force on 1 January 2023. This document also contained all the texts adopted by the last RID/ADR/ADN Joint Meeting (Berne, 14 to 18 March 2022).
- 5. The RID Committee of Experts also had document OTIF/RID/CE/2022/1, which contained the corrections and additions to be made to document [OTIF/RID/NOT/2023] in accordance with the decisions of the 14th session of the standing working group (Berne/hybrid, 23 and 24 May 2022). This document is identical to Annex I of the report of the 14th session of the standing working group (document OTIF/RID/CE/GTP/2022-A).
- 6. The RID Committee of Experts was aware that the revised versions of standards EN 12245 and EN 14912 and amendment A1 to standard EN 13094:2020 had not yet been published, but that they were due to be published by 8 June 2022. These will be included in the notification texts for RID 2023, provided they are actually published by that date (see also paragraph 8 of the report of the 14th session of the standing working group, document OTIF/RID/CE/GTP/2022-A).
- 7. The RID Committee of Experts unanimously adopted all the amendments contained in the two documents referred to for a date of entry into force of 1 January 2023.
- 8. The Secretariat explained that it would send the final notification texts to the Member States in accordance with COTIF Article 35 § 3 at the beginning of July 2022.

ITEM 5: Any other business

Thanks

- 9. The Chair thanked the Secretariat for the customary good preparation of the documents, which had considerably simplified the chairmanship of this meeting. She particularly thanked the Secretariat for its efforts in connection with the timely submission of document OTIF/RID/CE/2022/1 in all three working languages. She thanked the interpreters for the good quality of the interpretation, which had helped understand the debate considerably. She also thanked delegates for their always constructive cooperation under the difficult conditions of a hybrid meeting.
- 10. On behalf of all the delegates, the Deputy Chair thanked the Chair for her efficient conduct of the discussions over the past biennium, which had made it possible to adopt the final amendments to RID 2023.

Annex I

Liste des participants Teilnehmerliste List of participants

I. États parties au RID/RID-Vertragsstaaten/RID Contracting States

Allemagne/Deutschland/Germany

Mr Alfons Hoffmann Ms Linda Rathje-Unger Mr Frank Jochems Mr Luciano Inama

Autriche/Österreich/Austria

Mr Othmar Krammer

Belgique/Belgien/Belgium

Ms Caroline Bailleux

Danemark/Dänemark/Denmark

Ms Bolette Daugaard

Espagne/Spanien/Spain

Mr Luis **del Prado Arévalo**Ms Francisca **Rodríguez Guzmán**

Finlande/Finnland/Finland

Mr Jouni Karhunen

France/Frankreich/France

Ms Ariane Roumier

Italie/Italien/Italy

Ms Mariella di Febbo

Mr Salvatore **Ullo**

Mr Mattia Madrigale

Mr Valentino Rinaldi

Mr Andrea Giuseppe Ercole

Lettonie/Lettland/Latvia

Mr Dainis LācisMr Juris PakalnsMr Valerijs StuppeMs Gunta Priedniece

Luxembourg/Luxemburg/Luxembourg

Mr Iliass Zerktouni

Pays-Bas/Niederlande/Netherlands

Mr Arjan Walsweer

Ms Sam van de Snepscheut

Pologne/Polen/Poland

Mr Krzysztof **Irmiński** Mr Henryk **Ognik** Mr Łukasz **Balcerak**

République tchèque/Tschechische Republik/Czech Republic

Mr Luboš **Knížek** Ms Alena **Zátopková**

Royaume-Uni/Vereinigtes Königreich/United Kingdom

Ms Anita **Moinizadeh** Mr Arne **Bale**

Suède/Schweden/Sweden

Ms Katarina Ström

Suisse/Schweiz/Switzerland

Ms Valérie Blanchard

II. Organisations internationales gouvernementales/ Internationale Regierungsorganisationen/ International governmental organisations

Union européenne/Europäische Union/European Union

Commission européenne/Europäische Kommission/ European Commission

Mr Roberto **Ferravante** Mr Mircea **Ionescu**

Agence de l'Union européenne pour les chemins de fer /Eisenbahnagentur der Europäischen Union / European Union Agency for Railways (ERA)

Ms Ellen **Rogghé**Mr Francesco **Rotoli**Mr Oscar **Martos**

III. Organisations internationales non gouvernementales Internationale Nichtregierungsorganisationen International non-governmental organisations

Cefic

Mr Jörg **Roth**

Mr Marc Frederic Schroeder

UIC

Mr Joost **Overdijkink** Mr Jean-Georges **Heintz**

UIP

Mr Rainer **Kogelheide** Mr Oliver **Behrens** Mr Philippe **Laluc**

UIRR

Mr Ullrich Lück

UNIFE

Mr Tomasz **Szmidt**

V. Secrétariat/Sekretariat/Secretariat

Mr Wolfgang **Küpper**Mr Jochen **Conrad**Ms Katarina **Burkhard**

VI. Interprètes/Dolmetscher/Interpreters

Ms Viviane Vaucher Mr Werner Küpper Mr David Ashman
